Philippine flag

The Philippine flag is something that many people feel very strongly about, regardless of the country that they come from. However, in The Philippines, the national flag is a symbol of immense pride and passion. Known as The Three Stars & A Sun, the flag itself is effective in design and in meaning. It’s a horizontal bi-color, with equally sized sections of red and blue, with a white triangle at the hoist. Inside the triangle is a golden sun, surrounded by three stars, with eight primary rays.

Philippine flag

These rays represent the first provinces that started the beginning of the 1896 Philippine Revolution. The three stars, on the other hand, represent the three main island groups of The Philippines – Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao.

The Revolution against the Spanish plays an incredibly key role in the history of the nation, and the flag represents many of the overriding emotions behind the Revolution. The white triangle symbolizes equality, whilst the blue part of the flag represents peace and truth as well as justice. The red side of the flag, however, represents patriotism and valor.

The Sun stands to represent unity and freedom, acting as one of the main indicators of the importance of Independence to the people. However, others claim that the Su represents the massive strides taken by the people of The Philippines in claiming their own position of power within the world and progressing as a national.

The Philippine flag itself also remains in use during times of war, as the country does not use a separate war flag. Instead, the red field is flown upwards should war ever fall upon the nation. The only time that the flag has not been used as a representation of a time of war was during the Battle of Alapan in 1898.

The Philippine flag itself has gone through some minor changes over the years, with the original flag being designed by Emilio Aguinaldo during his exile to Hong Kong, in 1897. It was sewn for the first time by Marcela Agoncillo, with the help of her daughter Lorenza.

It was unfurled during the Proclamation of Independence on June 12th, 1898. However, since then it has changed in several ways. For example, the blue & the red have changed color – they used to be identical to the color used in the flag of Cuba.

It has been banned several times, too, first during the American occupation and then especially during the Japanese occupation of the country in December 1941. It was liberated in 1945, and since then it was restored to its proper place.